ULGA is run by a number of committees as stipulated in the organization’s Memorandum of Understanding and Articles of Association and they include;

The Executive Committee

The Executive committee (EXCOM) provides strategic direction to ULGA’s work and the central bodies, having regard to any advice from the ULGA Leadership Board and the boards of the central bodies and representing the views of Local Governments.

The Executive Committee Comprises:

  1. The President of the Association as its Chairperson
  2. Five Regional Vice Presidents
  3. Five Regional District Speakers
  4. Five Regional Chief Administrative Officers
  5. Five Regional Sub-County Representatives

Ethics and Accountability Committee

Ethics and Accountability Committee is an advisory body that provides a steer to the ULGA Executive on current priority issues for Local Governments.

The ULGA Ethics and Accountability Committee is appointed by Annual General Meeting and has a tenure of two years. The Mandate of the Ethics and Accountability Committee is to spearhead the implementation of the ULGA Charter on Accountability and Ethical Code of Conduct.

ULGA General Assembly

The Annual General Meeting is the supreme Policy organ of the Association. The Assembly is comprised of Local Governments Representatives, constituting of all District Chairpersons, all District Speakers of Councils, all District Chief Administrative Officers, and one Sub County representative per District

The Annual General Assembly (AGM) meets once a year and acts as the ‘parliament’ for Local Governments. It is at this forum that most of the decisions and resolutions are passed therefore making it a key element of ULGA’s governance structure.