The Uganda Local Governments’ Association Executive Committee (EXCOM) was sworn in on the 20th November 2016, to commence their 2 ½ year   term of office.

This was following their election by the ULGA members at the Annual General Meeting held on the 18th September 2016 at Hotel Africana. The swearing in Ceremony   was presided over by Chief Magistrate Nakawa, Her Worship Kabugho Byakutaga Carol together ULGA’s Legal Officer Counsel Allan Muwaya and the Secretary General ULGA Gertrude Rose Gamwera.

The EXCOM (the management organ of ULGA) is composed of 21   elected representatives from the five regions of Uganda namely: Karamoja, Eastern, Central, Western and Northern Regions. Each region   is represented by four officials drawn from the key segments of the higher and lower Local governments: A Regional Vice President; elected from among the  District Chairpersons,  Regional  Chief Administrative Officer from within the CAOs of the region, a Region  sub county Chairperson within the Region  and a Regional   District Speaker.

As has been the usual practice, the new EXCOM was taken through an intensive two days induction to equip the members with the requisite knowledge and skills to perform their executive function.

The induction was also attended by ULGA; strategic partner USAID GAAP Chief of Party – M/S  Eva Masiko  and the   Senior Management Team members :   The Secretary General; Gertrude Rose Gamwera , Membership Services & Institutional Development Manager – M/S Nafungo Irene, Finance & Administration  Manager – M/S Stella Abwallo, Program Manager/ Deputy Secretary General ; Geoffrey George  Omollo.

Listing of the Executive Committee Members 2016-2019

Mr. George Mutabaazi Chairperson Lwengo President ULGA
Mr. Elakas Walter Okiring Chairperson Katakwi Vice President, Eastern
Mr. Ojara Martin Mapenduzi Chairperson Gulu Vice President, Northern
Mr. Ssenyonga Andrew Chairperson Mukono Vice President, Central
Mr. Patrick Besigye Keihwa Chairperson Kabale Vice President, Western
Mr. Lomonyang Joseph Chairperson Napak Vice President, Karamoja
Mr. Mboogwe Isa Chief Administrative Officer Serere Regional CAO Eastern
Ms. Dorothy Ajwang Chief Administrative Officer Gulu Regional CAO Northern
Mr. Nkata James Chief Administrative Officer Kayunga Regional CAO Central
Mr. Kato K. Milton Chief Administrative Officer Rukungiri Regional CAO Western
Mr. Martin Jacan Gwokto Chief Administrative Officer Moroto Regional CAO Karamoja
Mr. Akol Ketty Speaker Amuria Regional Speaker Eastern
Mr. Opio Jolly Joe Speaker Amolatar Regional Speaker Northern
Ms. Nankunda Olivia Mpuuga Speaker Gomba Regional Speaker Central
Mr. Ndyaguma Baramu Speaker Mbarara Regional Speaker Western
Mr. Locheng Julius Lotyakatau Speaker Kotido Regional Speaker Karamoja
Mr. Senyimba Charles Daniel Sub-county Chairperson Nakasongola S/county Representative Central
Mr. Kitosi Charles Sub-county  Chairperson Namayingo S/county Representative Eastern
Mr. Masereka Martin Sub-county Chairperson Kasese S/county Representative Western
Mr. Acikule Bran Sub-county Chairperson Koboko S/county Representative Northern
Mr. Abach Peter Sub-county Chairperson Kaabong S/county Representative Karamoja